Meditation and Wellness

When I started writing this blog, I told you that my path to baking with heirloom and ancient grains was motivated by wellness. I feel better since I have eliminated all dairy and whey products, oatmeal and barley from my diet. I am tolerating the ancient grains breads much better than the traditional flours. I’ve even ordered more Kamut flakes to make my granola at home.


BODY-MIND-NUTRITION-FITNESS INTEGRATION

Next on my journey to wellness was to begin my meditation course. The Angel Wing is a foundation formed by my wonderful internist, Dr Chetana. Dr Chetana is trained in western medicine and integrative medical techniques. She believes in integrating nutrition, meditation and physical exercise into all of our daily lives. I found this quote on The Angel Wing website which I think summarizes Dr. Chetana’s approach to wellness.

There is more to fitness than well-toned muscles.  There is interconnectedness between the body and the mind.  There is energy moving through the body and the mind that is available through good nutrition and this energy is used of all physical and mental activity.

I have been looking for this meditation course for a long time. I was lucky enough to be in the pilot class. We will meet once a week for four weeks. We will learn two techniques each week. The first technique that we learned yesterday was closing your eyes and concentrating on your breathing. I learned to control my breathing with meditation while going to The Voice Center at Johns Hopkins. I had the best doctor, Dr. Best! Ha! Who knew that a doctor’s real name would be Dr. Best! Marisa was my speech therapist who taught the breathing retraining technique. She was so patient and supportive.

This breathing retraining technique is Buteyko Method. Named after Dr Konstantin Buteyko, the Buteyko Method consists of a series of breathing exercises and guidelines specifically designed to reduce over-breathing (clinically known as ‘chronic hyperventilation’). The simple fact is that many people breathe too much, which alters the natural levels of gases in the blood, reduces oxygen delivery to tissues and organs, and causes constriction of the smooth muscles surrounding blood vessels and airways. This can lead to numerous health problems. Bringing breathing volume towards normal and making the switch from mouth to nose breathing helps to alleviate such health problems. With this training, I learned to control my vocal cord dysfunction better.

I liked the second technique a lot. We would relax with our eyes open. Next I would stare at a candle flame for the count of 5, then look away for a count of 2. Repeat this 5 times. Next I closed my eyes and focused on the image of the flame. I found this technique to be light and relaxing. I will try this technique this afternoon with my lavender candle.

I have begun my path on meditation. I have a batch of Magic Mineral broth, a veggie broth in the crock pot for a noodle bowl for dinner. I am baking a loaf of cooked grains bread today. I better get hopping!

Leave a comment